Weekly Writing Challenge: Silent Screams

tulip-flower-garden

We sit on the sofa at night, three feet apart. But it might as well be three miles or three hundred. Yet, there’s a kind of comfort in it. I’ve come to know your profile like my own skin. The strong, square jaw with a day of salt and pepper stubble. The curly brown hair that you’re so proud of. I never tell you that it’s thinning up top; we like our illusions, after all. You always wear that stupid, sleeveless t-shirt while I’m bundled up in layers. Hot and cold. So many opposites between us.

You stare straight ahead at the television. It demands nothing of you. The constant drone of voices fills the chasm that we gave up on years ago. I hear myself telling you the same mindless details of my day as a silent scream wells up inside, trying desperately to escape. “I hate you!” But it’s not really you who feels the pounding of fists and the deep cuts of rage. It’s me I hate, for allowing myself to be buried like a tulip bulb planted with the promise of Spring. Only planted too deep, and forgotten. I should have been a glorious flower, admired and prized. Instead, I could never break through to the freedom of the light.

“I’m going to bed”, you announce.

I glance at the clock….8:30. Maybe tomorrow I’ll find the courage to end this suffocating funk and know what it means to be alive.

“Ok, good night.” I go back to my tablet and the safety of my denial.

 

This week I’m cheating, using this for both the DP Weekly Writing Challenge and the Trifecta Writing Challenge. I only have so much free time:)

25 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Silent Screams

  1. A heartbreaking story that I fear is happening across the globe in sitting rooms everywhere.

    I too cheated this week and used my piece for 2 challenges. We may have to both sit on the naughty step 😉

    Enjoyed this well crafted piece

    Ally 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: The 31st of March 1994 – Minneapolis, Minnesota | Forgotten Correspondance

  4. Pingback: Silent hands make light work | litadoolan

  5. I was reading this and was sad … then I realized it was a writing exercise? At least I hope so … and the words are from imaginations you do not realize in reality.

    And if indeed they are words pulled from creativity … then know that they are good enough to make me wonder if they are real …

  6. Pingback: On the art of better living | soulfoood

  7. Pingback: My World: My Stories – Utopian Funk (Trifecta Challenge) | Dibbler Dabbler

  8. Wow, this just captured it perfectly. I have been there myself, with her feelings, though I was usually the one off to bed first. Thank god I finally got up the strength to do something about it (not everyone does). Love the tulip analogy, just wonderful.

  9. Pingback: Hue Of Silence | Views Splash!

  10. Pingback: The Awkward Love Song of Abigail Archer [BOOK REVIEW] | Ramisa the Authoress

  11. Pingback: kind in heart | Free advice from a clinical psychologist

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | mariestephensgardening

  13. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 20th February, 2014 | Wired With Words

Leave a comment