Hair’s To A Better Year

20140216_163504Here I am in all my 2014 glory. Post-chemo, post-radiation, post-double mastectomy. My hair has come back in silvery gray with a lot more curl than it used to have. But you’ll never hear me complain. Any hair is good ย hair. I’m not sure if I’m going to be staying gray for much longer. I get a lot of compliments on the color, but I’m just feeling a tad too young to be permanently gray.

This picture was taken yesterday after I completed my first race since enduring 9 months of breast cancer treatment. It’s called the Frostbite 5K, and it was also the first race I ever attempted, in 2011. My time in that race was 32:25, and I was very excited, as that was much faster than my practice runs had been.

Yesterday, I had a bad cold and cough and struggled to breathe well. I only found out last week that they had changed the course of this race to include more than a mile up a steep mountain road. I thought about backing out and waiting for the next 5K to come around, but I wouldn’t let myself give up that easily. I felt the absurdity of the situation and did it anyway. If worse came to worse, I could walk part of the way.

So how did my great adventure turn out? I’m proud to say that I beat that original time by 8 seconds, 32:17, in spite of the steep climb and the snot rags in my waistband. I placed 4th in my age group. Not bad for a puny, post-cancer girl! So am I satisfied now to hang up my running shoes and be happy in the knowledge that I can still run a race after all that’s happened? Really? You know me better than that. I left the venue thinking, “Now all I have to do is shave 90 seconds off that time and I can win a medal.” Game on.

12 thoughts on “Hair’s To A Better Year

  1. That’s an incredible time! So proud of you and you have given me so hope~ My hair (when it comes back) will remain grey now. I sure hope I get a little bit of curl to it. ๐Ÿ™‚ You look awesomesauce.

  2. Congratulations! Where the hell are the Freshly Pressed people and why haven’t they visited this blog???

    Actually, I went out to lunch yesterday and the waitress was telling us of a 20-something friend who was already gray, but did something to make it a fantasy-like shiny icy silver. Have fun with your blank slate…

    • I’m touched, Bumble. I think you hit it on the head when you did your informal statistical analysis about the WordPress “money trail”. We’ll be discovered one day, hopefully not posthumously:)

  3. Great job!!! I look forward to reading about your medal WHEN you get one! As for the gray, I was happy that mine didn’t come in gray, but I was hoping for some curl or improved volume. I pretty much got exactly what I had before. But to your point, I’m not complaining. (Just surprised!) Congrats again on your run!

  4. Way to go on the run … (and by the way, that thing about getting a better time to get a medal … sounds like my wife! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    And how did you get that awesome bib #? I recall your blog post yesterday mentioning the 2011 run … so is this the 2nd Frostbite run for you? Next year you can try for bib #3 … then #4 … until you get to a bib # in the triple digits.

    • It’s actually funny about the bib. People kept coming up to me yesterday as if they were in awe. “You must be really good to get that number, huh?” I hadn’t even paid that much attention. Turns out that they do it alphabetically.

      • Shhhh … don’t admit that. I say play it up ๐Ÿ™‚

        For instance you can say …

        – They give out bib #’s based on what they forecast your overall placement to be.
        – That’s my per minute mile pace. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ
        – That’s how many children you are expected to have. (Poor people with bib # 3562!)

Leave a Reply

