Staying Alive

 

 

john travolta staying alive

It’s been many, many moons since I wrote a post. But when I had someone reach out with a personal e-mail asking for advice and hoping I was still doing well, I knew I had to get back to writing regularly. It’s nice to have folks care about how I’m doing after all this time.

Last weekend marked 3 years since I was diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer. The day came and went without much fanfare, until I sat down that night and realized what a huge milestone that actually is. I know that 5 years is the magical number for survival odds to greatly increase, but hey, I’m on the downward slope now and I can see the prize.

I guess you could say I’m doing fantastically well, which is part of the reason for my long blogging hiatus. There hasn’t been much to report other than the mundane day to day details that create a life. I’m still working from home, driving kids all over town, and taking care of a menagerie of animals. All the things most people complain about that survivors relish.

This year has been surprising. I left my job working in a hospital lab 18 months ago to finally use my chiropractic degree and build my practice. I’ve since come to realize what I probably knew on some level all along, that chiropractic in and of itself isn’t my calling. It’s not enough to feed my soul and satisfy my creativity. So life has taken me in some pretty unexpected directions.

I’ve started making and selling jewelry. I even opened up an Etsy shop and started doing craft shows. That’s craziness, considering I had never done this before last summer. Creativity…yes, it’s good. And it’s a sweet validation to have someone like your work enough to buy it.

I’ve also been taking intensive courses to learn how to create a business helping others online. My first project will be to create an online community of breast cancer survivors who are open to holistic health. There are groups who are completely anti-medical, and there are others that want nothing to do with anything outside the mainstream. But there’s very little in the middle. I hope to create courses and programs that will teach survivors how to use nutrition, supplements, and other alternative therapies to support their recovery and stay well. And there will be no shaming those who choose traditional treatment as well.

Along those lines, probably the most unexpected thing that has happened over the past year has been my foray into essential oils and the amazing way they have boosted my  health. I run, I have energy, I sleep well, I can put myself in a better mood, I have no aches and pains, and my hair is fuller and thicker. (Is it wrong that the last one makes me smile the most?) It took me a long time to be able to share all these things with people without feeling awkward or sheepish. But people noticed, and at some point I decided that it was really more of a disservice to keep it to myself when it had the potential to help so many who are not faring as well or just want to feel better.

So, I have decided to do a Facebook class on this topic. Monday, March 28th at 8pm, I will  be hosting a class called “Essential Oils That Have Let Me Thrive In Recovery”. I’ll tell you exactly what I’m using, why it’s important for survivors and how it can help you. I’ll post the link below. If you’d like to attend, all you do is follow the link and click “going”.

At the class time, posts will appear 3-4 minutes apart, and you can refresh the page to see each new post. You can ask questions in the post’s comments section. I’ll leave all the posts up for  day or so to let you review or catch up if you can’t be there live. I’m very passionate about essential oils, and I love to teach. Hope to see you there!

https://www.facebook.com/events/920824514700789/

 

12 thoughts on “Staying Alive

  1. Reblogged this on lights cancer action! and commented:
    I’m reblogging a post from my dear friend, Lisa. It’s not just anyone I re-blog… but Lisa and I are part of the sisterhood that is breast cancer and we have had very similar journeys. Lisa is the one who educated me about Estriol and she also got me using essential oils — both a great benefit to my health. She will be holding a Facebook class on Monday night, “Essential Oils That Have Let Me Thrive in Recovery”. If you’ve had any interest in essential oils, I Hope you will check out her class. You can see the details in her post.

    P.S. Lisa, nice job on the post name! 🙂

  2. So good to hear from you! I have often wondered how you are going. I too have not blogged for a long time – am doing really well and super busy, and have tended to ponder things more rather than write about them.
    I’m glad things are going so well for you. Ngaire X

    • Hello Ngaire! So good to hear from you. I often think about you, too and have even gone to your blog to check for updates. I’m not surprised to find out that you’re still busy😊. I’m glad to hear that everything is going well.

  3. Alana Peterson

    Thanks for the class on Essential Oils… I am the one who messaged you after your long hiatus from blogging… and you were so kind to get back to me right away.

    Over many years I’ve heard about EOs and put the idea of using them on the back burner, but now, after dealing with BC, its a no brainer.

    I didn’t realize that you had done the class until I dropped by your blog, so I popped over to the FB page and read through all of the material. It was wonderful and informative. I’m looking forward to your class on supplements.

    So glad you are doing well. I still have Herceptin infusion to do, which I’m having side effects from, although they tell me I shouldn’t be… and declined Tamoxifen after I’d already told them I didn’t want to take it, and I was asked by my family to “just try it.” One horrific week later, no more of that, ever! Back to my supplements, clean eating, and now essential oils.

    Thanks for being out here and helping others! I can’t wait to see where things go with your idea for helping other survivors on the journey back to health.

    You are a blessing!
    Alana

  4. Alana, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the class and learned a lot. In my experience, the things that aren’t supposed to cause side effects are the ones that get me! You didn’t say whether you already had essential oils. If not, I’d be happy to help you get started and support you along your journey😊

  5. Hi, I don’t know how I got to your blog, but I am glad I did.
    Firstly I hope the battle with cancer is going good and you come on top. Secondly, I read your hair/grey blog [I know it’s a year old], but still the information provided was great. It actually made me want to try out the supplements. You’re a great writer, and I love the way you express yourself.

    • Thanks so much for reading and for the complement! My hair is still growing in thicker and colored. The Ningxia Red is amazing! They actually make a starter kit with Ningxia products. If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll be glad to help you😊

  6. I was googling about using essential oils for post chemo recovery and came across your blog. I missed your class on this topic. Any chance of getting hold of the recording?

Leave a Reply

