Pardon Me, Can I Have Your Immune System?

white-blood-cell-543471_1280

What if I told you that you could harness the incredible power of a healthy immune system that didn’t even belong to you? Kind of like a rent-a-cop for your white blood cells? Um, yes please!

Well, the good news is that you can, without harvesting organs or taking anyone hostage. Because your new healthy immune system would go to waste in prison, or at worst be traded for cigarettes.

The Guards Have Left the Building 

As many of you reading this blog know all too well, a body assaulted by chemotherapy and radiation doesn’t fight infection very well. You become incredibly familiar with your dwindling “White Blood Cell Count” as you trudge to your next appointment and cross your fingers.

What you may not know is that your immune system had a glitch long before you were ever diagnosed, while you still looked and felt “healthy”. A properly functioning immune system has white cells that function as “guards at the gate”, kind of like the ones you see at a military base entrance.

military-606198_1280

Surprise! Everybody Has Cancer 

I hate to break this news, but we all have rogue, or “cancer” cells floating around our bodies all the time. When our physiology is functioning normally, our immune cells, those “guards”, recognize the cancer cells as enemies and promptly mount an attack to get rid of them. When something breaks down in that process, the cancer cells are able to gain a foothold and multiply out of control.

So when the doctor tells you, “Congratulations! We got all of the cancer.” or, “You’re cancer-free”, that is a fairy tale. There’s no way to guarantee that one of those “bad cells” didn’t survive the treatment. As a matter of fact, it’s almost a certainty that it did.

Excuse Me, Mr. Plant, I Need To Borrow Your Immune System

What can you do to prevent cancer or keep it from coming back? There’s no one, simple answer to that question. Just as there were multiple factors that allowed cancer to invade your body, there are multiple things you must do to keep it in check and co-exist.

One of the most powerful weapons I have in my anti-cancer arsenal is my Young Living essential oils collection. Why?

Inside every plant, shrub, tree, or flower is a source of energy, life and healing compounds. The essential oil is like the blood and immune system of the plant. In the plant, it seals cuts and heals wounds, provides nutrients and oxygen for cellular regeneration, and guards against unwanted harmful invaders.

The essential oil is 200-10,000 times more powerful than an herb from the same plant. Therefore, it has incredible medicinal power and a little goes a long way.

In 20 seconds, the oil can penetrate the tissues of the skin and get into the bloodstream, and it is one of the few substances with particles small enough to penetrate the blood-brain barrier. This is how certain oils affect brain inflammation, emotions, focus, and concentration.

Essential oils are among the most powerful anti-oxidants on earth. Some are antibacterial, some are antiviral. In addition to supporting the immune system, they benefit the body in many ways: relaxing muscle, helping to maintain normal blood sugar levels, soothing aches and pains, aiding digestion, promoting sleep, slowing aging, etc.

I Don’t Have Time To Squeeze Oil Out of Plants!

man in lab

That’s quite a picture! You in your secret basement lab wringing out some poor peppermint leaves into a jar. Let’s not go there.

How do they get the essential oils out of the plants?

Essential Oils are extracted in many ways, but the primary method is steam distillation. But there are a number of ways that the oils can be grown and extracted that are very cost efficient and produce large amounts of cheap oil, such as:

  • Using Chemical Solvents. These mix with the oil in the final product and leave behind chemical residue which doesn’t have to be listed in the ingredients.
  • Diluting the pure essential oil with another oil or a synthetic substance (think perfumy) to make it go farther. Again, this won’t be on the label!
  • Steam distilling the same batch of plants over and over again. This would be like using the same coffee grinds to brew six pots of coffee. That sixth batch would be pretty weak and useless.
  • Spraying the crops with chemical pesticides to increase crop yields.

Young Living doesn’t use any of these methods. They sell only the first distillation, and no chemical pesticides or fertilizers are ever used. As a matter of fact, they use their own oils as pesticides, and most weeds are still picked by hand. Pretty rare for a large corporation!

Young Living Lavender Fields, Utah

Young Living Lavender Fields, Utah

Interested in the science? I’ll link to a few abstracts below for you to peruse:

1) Anti-Cancer activity of essential oils: a review

2) Immunomodulatory activity of geranial, geranial acetate, gingerol, and eugenol essential oils: evidence for humoral and cell-mediated responses.

3) Anticancer activity of essential oils and their chemical components – a review

If any of this strikes a chord in you, and you want to get started with your own oil journey, check out the Essential Oils tab on my home page to sign up.

2 thoughts on “Pardon Me, Can I Have Your Immune System?

  1. Hi there! Thanks for this information! I was planning to look for some “scientific” evidence from Pub Med or somewhere else, so you saved me some work! 🙂 I want to bring in a guest speaker at work to talk about essential oils and our Health & Wellness group said “there’s no scientific evidence, so no…” So I figured if I could proved them some studies, they might change their minds. So thanks!!!!
    By the way, I’m hooked on this series… when’s the next update? I hope there’s more… I’m learning so much! (Altho I did buy a book as well… To date, I haven’t purchased any… not really sure where to start.)

  2. Hi stranger! Sorry I dropped the ball a bit on the series. My practice has picked up, so things have been a little crazy around here between that and being the head chauffeur for the kids.
    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the info. It’s powerful stuff. As a matter of fact, I love the Young Living oils so much that I became a distributor on top of my day job. I hold classes and educate people on how to change their health naturally.
    If you’re interested in trying these out, I’d be happy to help you or answer any questions you have. I talked about the premium starter kit in some of the posts. That’s how I started because I think it’s the best bang for the buck. You get 11 different bottles of oil, 2 samples of the awesome anti oxidant drink, 10 oil sample packets to share plus the diffuser, which is the best part. I run that thing constantly! And because education is really important to me, I personally buy people 2 reference books. One is a desk reference with over 6,000 alphabetical conditions and which oils to use for them. The other is a chemical free home book that has all kinds of non toxic DIY recipes using oils. I also offer a private Facebook group for my new members with tons of free education and more DIY recipes. The people in the group are super supportive and helpful.

    I’ll get the next post up this weekend. I hope you’ve been doing well and are looking forward to Spring as much as I am:)

Leave a Reply

