Unexpected Natural Remedies That Are Blowing My Mind, Part 2

hippie-497976_1280

The Artist Formerly Known as “Chuck”

He’s Joined The “Dark Side”

When we last left our saga, my skeptical Jeep-driving, gun-toting, Wrangler jean-wearing, red-blooded American husband had donned colorful silk clothing, joined my essential oil cult and taken the name “River”. What happened?

When I brought my starter kit of Young Living Essential oils home, I told my husband he would henceforth be my guinea pig. He has enough ailments for me to get plenty of practice and really give these a college try.

panaway

We decided to start with the knee, which has been through 4 arthroscopic surgeries, several bucking horses in the rodeo, and a life of general rough and tumble “real man” stuff. I applied the PanAway oil, which was suggested for joint pain, arthritis and muscle aches.

Most days my husband’s poor knees sound like machine gun fire when he stands up, and he describes his pain like a “headache in your knees”. It’s a constant, dull ache. He’s my weather forecaster; his joints know when the pressure is changing outside.

So we put about 2 drops on each knee, rubbed it in, and went back to watching “The Bachelor”. Ok, I went back to watching it, and he sat next to me and hated it the whole time. After 10 minutes, he stood up to try and escape  get a drink, and he turned and just stared at me.

“What”, I teased “are you afraid you’ll miss the Fantasy Suite? Don’t worry, I’ll fill you in.”

“No”, he bounced up and down. “My knees….don’t hurt. Really, I can still feel the grinding and popping, but the ache is gone.”

“You’re kidding, right?” I thought maybe he was just trying to make me feel better to get into his own “fantasy suite”.

“Seriously! I don’t know what the heck is in this stuff, but it feels better than the last cortisone shot I got”.

I was beyond pleased. That was quite a testimony for 10 minutes of being oiled up. The proof in the pudding would be what happened next. Maybe it was just like the “Ben-Gay effect” and the pain would come back in a few minutes.

That didn’t happen. We went to bed, and in the morning I asked cautiously about the knees, one eye closed.

“It still doesn’t hurt. That’s the easiest time I’ve had getting out of bed in months.”

My poor husband will sometimes wake up in excruciating pain from having slept with his knees in the wrong position. And inevitably, he looks like the tin man trying to straighten up in the morning. We were both now seriously impressed.

He went to work, and I could hardly wait for him to come back for the evening oil report. By about 6 that night, after being on his feet all day, the pain had started creeping back in a little bit.

We applied “the oil”, as we affectionately called it. Same result. Nearly instant pain relief. The more we’ve done this, the longer the effect has lasted. He can now go 2 days between oilings, and that seems to be where we’ll stay.

He actually said to me the other day: “Did you order ‘the oil’? I don’t ever want to be without it.” Um, ok River, I think the drum circle is missing your karma.

Essential Oils And the “C” Word?

After that first amazing week, I’ve gotten much more familiar with all of the 11 oils in my kit. I’ve done my research on their benefit, with particular interest in how they can be used in a cancer survivor’s prevention toolkit. The research is astonishing, both in volume and content. (I’m looking at you, my favorite Australian scientist) 🙂

screenshot pubmed eo cancer - Copy

Check Out How Many Results There Are!

I’d like to share some of what I’ve learned with you in the coming posts. I’ll go over how essential oils work and how you can use them for common health concerns, including the “C” word.

So do I think the hubby can completely avoid the knee replacement staring him in the face? These are oils, not magic beans. But if we can keep him comfortable enough to enjoy life for a few more years, I say that’s worth the investment.

Here’s to you, River. I think I’ll call you by your Sioux name, Dances With Oils.

4 thoughts on “Unexpected Natural Remedies That Are Blowing My Mind, Part 2

  1. Hello my friend 🙂 I’m super intrigued and keen to learn more about the pharmacology of how the various essential oils are thought to act. I actually have a knee injury of some sort that, along with the tamoxifen, is making me feel decrepit and ancient in the mornings when I have to get moving. I have an MRI booked but surgery is not an option I can pursue – maybe I should give this oil a try.
    Will drop you a line soon. Was in San Diego last week, Sydney this week and Monaco next week, all for work. Crazy but strangely fun. It’s messed with my miracle mornings and goals, but I’m hanging in there and doing what I can. Hope you’re doing ok.

    • I am incredibly jealous about these travel events! Sorry to hear about your knee. I’m enthralled with the oils and have added several to my cancer prevention protocol. I’ll be writing about that soon, as well as the best way to purchase them if people have an interest.
      Please do write to me soon and tell me all about the exciting things you’re doing as I sit and look out my window at cows, you scoundrel:)

  2. You crack me up! Love this little “series”. I, too, have been very intrigued by essential oils. A coworker is really in to them and I have wanted to try them but haven’t had the time to do any research. So thank you in advance for sharing what you learned. I really want to try them. And they may just help a certain macho-man in this corner of the world with similar knee / hip issues! Hope you are well! ((hugs!))

Leave a Reply

