Unexpected Natural Remedies That Are Revolutionizing My Family’s Health

lavender plant

We Love Chemicals Around Here

Um, no thanks, we don’t really like to use natural products in our home when there’s a chemical alternative. The flu, yes please, we’ll take it! Builds character. The baby prefers parabens and blue #46 in his diaper cream, you freak! These are a few phrases often said by…no…one…ever.

These words are laughable, but so many of us live this way on autopilot without ever stopping to think what we are putting into our bodies or our environments.

As a holistic physician and a breast cancer survivor, I really should know better, but I ‘m just as guilty as the next guy. I do try to eat healthy and exercise, but I’ve got my fair share of Ibuprofen and Lysol in my house, and….Egads! I use tap water!

In my endless search to shore up my immune system and make myself healthier in general to prevent a recurrence, I have started taking a long, hard look at the medicines and household products we use. Don’t be lulled into thinking that only the things you physically put into your body can harm you. Everything from make-up to hand lotion, to cleaning solutions, to shampoo contain ingredients that are toxic and can lead to debilitating health issues.

Think I’m exaggerating? Grab one of your skin or beauty products, go here, and type in some of the ingredients. Be ready to drop jaw. Now some of you might be thinking, “Ok, so there are a few things I use that aren’t so healthy. They won’t kill me, and I’ll look really cute”. No, one or two might not hurt you because your amazing liver is plugging away to detox for you. But take all the products you use, day in and day out, and that toxicity builds up and can overwhelm your precious liver. And, let me tell you, a bum liver makes for a bad day.

What I’m About To Tell You I Discovered By Accident

My kids make fun of me and call me a hippie because of my arsenal of vitamins, juices, and health foods. But then I see them, when they think I’m not looking, and they’re eating some kale. Score!

I’ve always been interested in essential oils. I wasn’t sure why; they just appealed to my nature on some level. I would go to Whole Foods or Earth Fare and smell all the little bottles, but I never bought any. I guess I didn’t really know what to do with them.

About a month ago, I attended an Essential Oils 101 class given by a good friend of mine who is also a holistic physician. Something about the class and my level of trust in her persuaded me to buy my “starter kit” of oils and really figure out if they could help me and my family in any way.

Here’s a picture of what I got:

starter kit pi

My kit had 11 of the most popular essential oils, a special cool diffuser that atomizes the oil particles, some sample oil packets, a roller attachment for the bottles, and 2 packets of a super-antioxidant, low sugar drink. Anti-oxidants…can we say good for keeping your cells healthy and multiplying properly?

I’m a Huge Scientific Nerdy Skeptic

Well, I don’t just take anything at face value. I research it ad nauseum (usually way too long) before I make up my mind. I took my little kit home and started diffusing away, half expecting it to just make my house smell good but little else. Hey, even that’s a bonus with 3 kids, a dog, and 2 cats. That combo doesn’t always make for the most pleasing aroma, if you know what I mean.

What Happened Next Shocked the Heck Out of Me

My husband is not exactly what you’d call “metro” or “New Age”. He’s more like a Fred Flintstone kind of guy when it comes to doing anything out of the mainstream. So he looked at me like he always does when I came home with my oils. “Tolerant Disbelief” describes it best, I suppose. He knows me by now. No words are necessary.

Let me tell you…my husband was the first Berlin Wall of oil to tumble down. Now he’s with me, running through a field of tulips….ok, not quite.

fred flintstoneyanni

Stay tuned tomorrow, and I’ll tell you what turned Fred Flintstone into Yanni.

8 thoughts on “Unexpected Natural Remedies That Are Revolutionizing My Family’s Health

  1. Pingback: Unexpected Natural Remedies That Are Blowing My Mind, Part 2 | NOWHERE TO RUN

  2. I am interested to know if all essential oils are the same. For example; Young Living is expensive. I’m always hesitant to buy oils because I don’t understand how to figure out the difference between essential oils. I’d hate to waste my money if the oil is just an oil, but I also don’t want to waste money on an expensive oil when a cheaper one offers the same benefit. Does that make sense?

    • I totally understand that. I have three kids eating me out of house and home! And I hate spending more money than I have to. I’m going to write a post about this subject today that I think will clear up the differences in the oils.

  3. Pingback: Natural Xanax: No Prescription Needed! | NOWHERE TO RUN

Leave a Reply

