How Being Sour May Just Save Your Breasts…And Your Life

lemons-409089_1280

I knew there was a benefit to my attitude! Instinct wins again.

Many people reading my blog have either had breast cancer, are in the middle of treatment, or are trying desperately to figure out how to keep it from coming back.  At the very least, you probably love someone you don’t want to lose.

That’s where my passion lies. I decided after my own bout with advanced breast cancer two years ago that it was my calling and my mission to educate myself and other women about natural prevention, nutrition, and treatment support.

When something easy yet powerful comes along, I listen…

I scour tons of literature looking for ways to protect myself in my quest to stay healthy and to be there for my kids. For cancer survivors, nothing is taken for granted and each day is a gift.  Although the fear dims with the passing of time, the possibility of recurrence lurks in the background like a constant companion.

So What’s The Latest Scoop?

The simply elegant, unceremonious little LEMON. More specifically, a recent study at the Arizona Cancer Center showed that the peel of the lemon is the hero in our story. The peel contains a natural substance called d-limonene, which has shown promise against a wide variety of cancers. In this study, a small group of women were given 2 grams of limonene each day for 6 weeks before lumpectomy surgery.

In these women, d-limonene supplementation reduced expression of the breast tumor marker cyclin D1 by 22%!

Cyclin D1 rears its ugly head in over half of invasive breast cancers and can cause Tamoxifen treatment failure.

D-limonene is known as a terpene. Other sources include:

  • citrus fruits
  • berries
  • cherries
  • peppermint
  • basi
  • thyme
  • rosemary

So How Are You Gonna Get Your Terpenes?

my juice glass

A delicious and easy way to get several in one shot would be to make a daily green juice. I just bought a Breville juicer and have tried out the following recipe:

4 lactinato kale leaves rolled into a bundle

3 carrots

half a lemon with peel on

half a grapefruit

1 inch of ginger

With juicing, it is very important not to overload with sweet fruits. Remember, sugar feeds cancer, and whenever you juice it’s like mainlining produce.

You can also whip up a smoothie in a Vitamix or a Ninja. This will retain the fiber of the veggies, and you’ll get more yield from your greens.

Whichever way you go, please use organic produce. We don’t want to flood you with a pesticide cocktail!

Be creative in your cooking. Find some recipes that use lemon zest. Click here for an easy one that I use often. (I substitute pesto for the mustard).

I’ll be writing a series of posts about how to use natural substances in your health toolkit. Until someone can improve on nature, that’s where my focus will be.

For now, pucker Up And Get Your Lemon On!

3 thoughts on “How Being Sour May Just Save Your Breasts…And Your Life

Leave a Reply

