The Twins Are 3 Months Old!

image

It’s been about three months since my implant exchange surgery, so I thought it was time for a little update on the “girls”. How did things turn out?

First let me say, the exchange surgery was ten times easier than the tissue expander placement. I only took a week off. The recovery was a breeze. At the end of July we took a vacation, a little over a month post-op. Everything was going well until I noticed a tiny reddened place along my stitch line on the left side. The next morning it started to look infected, although still quite small.

When I returned home, I went to the plastic surgeon’s office right away, terrified that the implant might be infected. I’ve seen such horror stories. Thankfully, it was only a stitch abscess, and he told me the implant looked great. It was a case of “spitting stitches”, where the dissolvable stitch doesn’t dissolve properly and the body tries to get it out.

Well, it turned out that I had three layers of dissolvable stitches, and soon these little abscesses began popping up weekly for about a month on both sides. My body was really spitting hard. It was a bit of an annoyance, going to the doctor weekly to have stitches removed, but it was nothing I couldn’t handle.

When my last stitch was removed, the doctor really dug around and created a fairly obvious opening in the scar. The whole lower half of the left breast began to get warm and red in the next few days. When I told him, he wanted to put me on antibiotics. Tired of being medicated and destroying my body’s natural balance, my inner rebel kicked in, and I decided to take matters into my own hands.

Remembering my delightful acupuncturist/herbalist, I hopped off the medical train and back to my belief in my body’s innate ability to heal. I scheduled a private acupuncture session and was given a poultice of Chinese herbs to put on the breast for the next several days as well as an herbal tea. It looked like mustard and made a hellacious mess, but….let’s just say that the infection was drawn out fairly quickly and the spot began to look better.

Since that treatment, I have had no more stitch abscesses. Tomorrow will be a regular follow-up visit to discuss the next step in the process, raised homemade nipples with areola tattoos or 3D nipple and areola tattoos. I’m leaning toward the real thing, although the 3D stuff is pretty amazing. I just feel like it would be a bit of a bait and switch for the audience. “Looks great…I’m just going to touch it…what the hell!” Not that the audience is that large, but I’ve gone this far, I might as well complete the deal.

Overall, so far at least, it’s been totally worth it to be able to have a feminine shape again. And it’s so nice not to have to “stuff” my bra every time I wear a form-fitting top. I know that it doesn’t bother some women, but I’ve said from the beginning that I was going to see the bright side of this journey. And trading my “lemons in a tube sock” for perky oranges rates right up there!

 

7 thoughts on “The Twins Are 3 Months Old!

  1. I wish I looked this good in a bathing suit! I am sorry for the infections, etc. and glad to hear they’re over. Hopefully, you will have some time to just relax now. You deserve it.

    • It all looks good as long as I’m still and upright! My muscle tone is pathetic these days. Having no estrogen causes the skin to hang in less than flattering ways. Oh well, I’m just grateful to still be here wearing a bathing suit:)

    • Thank you, dahling. I saw the doctor today, and in two weeks the nipples will be built, followed by the areola tattoo. I just have to focus on keeping the radiated side from scarring up and getting really tight. I massage it daily. I have too much invested for this ship to capsize now!

  2. Looking good! But mostly that’s a great photo of looking happy and healthy. I’m also now booked for the final stage of surgery – October 3rd. I’m a bit nervous about having yet more cutting and anaesthesia, but like you I figure I’ve come this far, I may as well finish the job!

    • Thank you! Apparently the nipple construction is an easy surgery. It’s done in the office with local anesthesia. I know what you mean about dreading more cutting and recovery. I’m half tempted to back out and get the tattoos:) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

