Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

Photo Apr 21, 12 36 26 PM

This photo was taken at the top of Looking Glass Mountain near Asheville. Annoyed with being the one to always plan family outings, I left it up to my husband to figure out the day’s activity. At the time, we were both overweight and out of shape. So what did he come up with? A six mile hike, straight up a mountainside. Sweating profusely and out of breath, we finally reached the summit to find this outstanding panoramic view.

Terrified of heights and “edges”, I stood in the background and captured the moment. My daughter, who was 8 at the time, ventured fearlessly onward and sat atop this precarious perch (it’s not as bad as it looks).

I was pregnant with my youngest daughter on this day, but wouldn’t find out until the next week. She must have been wondering what kind of crazy family she had gotten herself into!

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

  1. Your daughter is brave. I would have stayed in the background too although I bet my son will venture that close to the edge too which means I will be holding his hand tightly as we watch this breathtaking amazing view. We did something similar at Mount Bonnell Austin. Butterflies in my tummy? Tons! Beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

