Today Is B-Day

No, I won’t be landing on a beach in Normandy. Well, maybe, depending on how much morphine they give me. I hope it’s warmer there…

I’ll be hurrying over to the hospital in about an hour so I can wait for two hours with some other starved and dehydrated souls before surgery. Today will be the beginning of my bionic boob journey. “We can build them better, stronger…”

My tissue expanders will be inserted today and filled with 50-100 cc’s of saline. After I’ve healed for a couple weeks, I’ll go in weekly to get a “splash n go” until my mosquito bites become navel oranges.

I woke up at about 3:30 this morning with a combination of hot flashes (which I rarely get) and nerves. I think I’m more nervous about this surgery than the double mastectomy. I’ve been feeling really good lately, and I’m not looking forward to being in pain and having to take antibiotics. I have to keep telling myself that at least there’s a better consolation prize this time around.

Well, I’m off to get ready. I’ll keep you posted.

3 thoughts on “Today Is B-Day

  1. Sorry I’ve been so elusive lately. Work and life has been all-consuming.I’m doing ok. I’ve been keeping an eye on reading blogs but have been slack with replying. I hope your surgery goes well today. The expanders have not been as painful and uncomfortable as I thought they would be, although once they reached full volume have felt a bit like rocks! Am looking forward to my implant exchange surgery in May. Best wishes xx

Leave a Reply

