New Boobs Ahoy

mermaid-contrarian-creative

 

Well, the time has come, almost one year to the day since my breast cancer diagnosis. I feel a little giddy, like a high school girl with a hundred dollar bill at the mall. Should I get these, or, no….wait a minute, I really love the way I look in these. Do you think these make me look fat? I’m not talking about a new pair of jeans or even a daring little polka dot bikini; I’m picking out something much more fabulous and precious, a new pair of boobs.

Yes, that’s right, on March 26 I will be undergoing the first step in the series leading to my new and improved “girls”. Now, my bar is set fairly low. After all, anything would be a drastic improvement compared to the flat chest desert with the matching horizontal scars I now sport. It’s cool in a way. I look a bit like a really simplistic treasure map. I’ve followed the map; now I’m ready for the prize.

tissue expander

This first step will involve placing two plastic tissue expanders, which consist of folded plastic bags, under the pectoral muscles. (That just sounds like fun, doesn’t it?) There will be a small port placed under the skin with a tube leading to each bag. For 6 to 8 weeks, I’ll have saline injected into the bags a little at a time via the port. This will allow the skin over the chest wall, which is now flat and taut, to stretch to accommodate an implant.

Once the desired size is reached with expansion, which I’m thinking will be about a perky “C”, the expander is exchanged for a permanent implant. I’ll then have nipples created from skin elsewhere on my body, and the final artistic touch will be tattooed areolas.

This sounds like a simple process, but in reality it can be anything but. It carries the normal risks associated with surgery, such as infection and bleeding. However, when surgery is performed on radiated skin, there are additional worries. The skin may not heal properly, or it may not stretch as expected. Also, radiation causes the skin to be thinner, so cadaver skin will be used on that side to “reinforce” the implant and prevent it from breaking through.

before-after-implant

After all is said and done, I would love to have a result like the one above, which is from a plastic surgeon’s website. Hey, maybe I need to go back and get that name! Now, I’m sure that this is probably a year or more post-op to have that much fading of the scars. But all in all, it looks great to me. Ok, I might go a touch bigger, but I won’t get greedy.

The best part of all this, aside from being able to wear normal clothes again, is that I’m having the procedure the day before my daughter turns 6. I’ve already told her that we will have to go to Chuck E. Cheese a little early because Mommy is getting new boobs for her birthday!

 

4 thoughts on “New Boobs Ahoy

  1. Yay for you!!! I just got my implants two weeks ago. Its a interesting process.some advice ask for muscle relaxers. My radiated side I would have spasms. But all that aside its exciting to pick your boobs out! I still may need another surgery so for now I have Barbie boobs. I’ve got the decision of what to do about nipples, so many choices!!

  2. As one of your male readers I debated on responding.

    I admit knowing almost next to nothing on the subject of breast reconstruction for breast cancer survivors. (Please excuse any misstatements of terms I might be using … and feel free to correct me!) I do know some of the pains of cancer (albeit 2nd hand) … and wanted to show my support.

    So while I have not suggestions or advice … I do want to say … GO you. This post has a lot of information that others can use … and draw support from.

  3. Thank you for your support and for being a brave male reader! I’m sure the others were thinking “I want to like this, but then she’ll think I like her boobs…or the pictures of boobs…just too awkward.” Go you!

Leave a Reply

