Sun, Sand, and No Squishy Frogs

I haven’t posted for several days, but I have a pretty good excuse. My daughter and I are “wintering in Florida”. Well, not exactly wintering, more like “thawing out” for a week or so. We are on the Gulf coast in Sarasota, 10 minutes from what has been voted most beautiful beach in the United States, Siesta Key.

I am from Miami originally, and when I was growing up I couldn’t wait to leave Florida and see the seasons. The heat was oppressive in the summertime, much like stepping into a giant sauna with B52 bomber-size roaches. And amphibians of every size and shape. I remember sneaking in after curfew one night and tiptoeing ever so stealthily down the hall in stocking feet. I almost made it to my bedroom….when I stepped square on a baby tree frog In the darkness. It took everything I had not to lose it right there. Instead, I made horrible faces and exhaled silent screams as I raced to the bathroom to wash my foot.

Fast forward to today. Oh what a difference 30 years makes. Slap me with a shuffleboard stick and call me granny, but I hate, hate, hate being cold. I get chilled to the bone sometimes, and I actually have to get in a hot shower to warm up. And it has been a nasty winter in Asheville so far. There hasn’t been much snow, but the “polar vortex” has a firm grip. Next week the forecast low is 3 degrees one morning. Really? 3? Can’t wait to get back!

Meanwhile, we have enjoyed beautiful sunshine and average temperatures near 70 for most of our stay In Florida. Yesterday we walked along the beach and collected shells. I could get used to this. Tomorrow, it’s off to the Ringling Museum, which is supposed to be fantastic.

And so far….not a roach or a tree frog in sight. I’m keeping my shoes on, just in case.

One thought on “Sun, Sand, and No Squishy Frogs

Leave a Reply

