Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

image

Just a typical Sunday afternoon in my house. I was busy looking up recipes and trying to come up with a healthy grocery list with constant interruptions from my 5 year-old daughter. Like most young children, she was jumping around like a flea doing various “tricks” to get me to abandon what I was trying to focus on and give her my undivided attention.

When she asked me for the umpteenth time to watch her dance routine, I got a little irritated and told her that I was busy and would watch after dinner. “Go play with your toys”, I pleaded. She disappeared and was quiet for about twenty minutes. Just as I finished my grocery list, she called from upstairs.

“Mom. I need to show you something in my room.” Now, usually this is not a good sign, so I didn’t hesitate running up the stairs. “What is it?” I asked. She motioned over to her bed. “Sit down, Mommy.” I sat, curious about her odd behavior.  She pointed to the careful arrangement of stuffed animals shown in the picture above.

“Does this look like a sad person?” she quizzed.  I looked carefully and was impressed with her creativity. “Yes, it really does, honey.”

She sat down on the bed and turned to me with her best Oscar-winning expression of disappointment. “That’s how I feel, Mommy.”

I instantly felt a tug at my heart strings as I wondered what could have possibly prompted such a display. “Why on earth are you sad, baby?”

“Well, I really wanted to show you my dance performance, but you told me I had to wait until after dinner. That made me sad.”

Needless to say, we had a dance recital right then and there, accompanied by lots of hugs and praise.

This is either the beginning of a long, successful acting career for my girl or a long, arduous journey into being manipulated for me. I’m guessing it will be more of the latter.

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

  1. Good lesson from your daughter (even if at the hands of a little manipulation!) 🙂 I get mad at myself sometimes because I am too busy doing “something” and regret that I didn’t spend more time with my son when the day is done.

  2. Props to you because I know you have older children. Mine are 23, 19 and 13 and when I see little kids, I’m so glad I don’t have one. Amazingly cute but so tiring. Anyway, I love that she actually reached out and told you she was sad. That just says there is an amazing connection there. Good job Mom!

Leave a Reply

