Why All Your Kids and Possibly Your Pets Should Take Statins

So as I was sucking down a plate of fatback with brown lard gravy and a side of butter pudding, I came across the new cardiac risk guidelines fresh off the press from the American Heart Association.

It seems that the “know your number” cholesterol campaign is sooo last year. The new and improved tool coming to a doctor’s office near you is the “cardiac risk calculator” which takes into account your age, sex, weight and whether or not you are a diabetic, a smoker, etc.

These factors, along with your cholesterol numbers, can be plugged into a magic calculator (donated by a Pfizer rep) which will spit out your “future cardiac risk”.  The new fashionable number is..ta da…7.5%.  Above that number? It will be a statin drug in your Christmas stocking this year, regardless of whether you currently have any symptoms of a heart problem or any health problem at all.

To this point, statins such as Lipitor have been the top-selling drugs of all time, with annual sales of $26 billion. One quarter of all adults in America are prescribed statin drugs. With the new guidelines coming out, it is estimated that this figure will jump to 44% of men and 22% of women.  And let’s not leave the kids out. In 2011, Pfizer came out with a chewable version of Lipitor so it could be prescribed to children. Coincidentally, this was right before the original patent expired. New product = new patent.

“Ok”, you’re thinking, “but if the statin drug lowers my cholesterol and prevents a heart attack, what’s the problem?”

In the next installment, I’ll tell you why statin drugs will ruin your health and how you can lower your risk of heart disease without drugs.

P.S. Watch the video. It’s very funny:)

6 thoughts on “Why All Your Kids and Possibly Your Pets Should Take Statins

    • Some people are stupid and some would much rather take a pill and fool themselves into thinking that it makes up for a crappy lifestyle. Sadly, doctors fuel this mindset by having the prescription pad out and ready while giving zero true health advice. I really believe it’s a form of malpractice.

  1. Pingback: An Ideal Husband | lights cancer action!

  2. Oh my. Where to start. I was diagnosised with high cholesterol about 10 years ago. I was already pretty physically active but admittedly, a very poor eater. I started paying attention to my diet and exercised on a more regular schedule. My cholesterol Went Up. Needless to say I went on Lipitor and the years just flew by. As of recent I have been going through Major Life Changes. Part of my new ” Coming of Age” process has been looking at the prescription meds I have been using and foods I am eating and looking to make whatever changes need be. First on the LIST. Lipitor! I had been exercising “Hard Core” LOL and really paying attention to what I was consuming. STOPPED all statins and in 3 months cholesterol doubled. I don’t by any means consider myself stupid and would much rather take no prescription meds, but some people are at risk simply due to hereditary factors. When you find the Magical New Age answer please, Please shoot me a Text. 😉

    • I agree that some people are at hereditary risk of high cholesterol, Sheila, but this number is very small. I applaud your efforts to take charge of your health. It may be that nothing will help, but I’d be curious to know how you changed your diet and what your other lipid numbers are, I.e. HDL, LDL, triglycerides. Did you know that the upper limit for cholesterol was 300 not that long ago? Cholesterol by itself means nothing in terms of health.

      In many cases, it’s not as difficult as it may seem to turn a poor lipid profile around. To know if yours is really bad, you should ask for a VAP test. It’s a mainstream lab test that looks at lipid particle sizes and ratios to tell you what your numbers really mean in terms of cardiac risk. Labcorp offers it.

Leave a Reply

