Taxol Round #3: How 2 + 1 = 7

80’S CANCER JAM OF THE DAY:

 

Well, here we are, three days post chemo. I have officially taken Taxol outside, grabbed it by the throat and hogtied it. I’m whispering this, though, because Taxol is tricky. While I have my back turned, typing, it could sneak out of that seedy alley and beat the crap out of me. It is a formidable component.

boxerpicture by Keith Abigail

A lot has changed since my last treatment over two weeks ago. Do you remember my doctor saga? After that fiasco, I had an appointment with a new oncologist last week whom I had met once before and found extremely likable and caring. As I predicted, some karmic wind blew through my old oncology office and foreshadowed my leaving.

I kid you not. On my way to the appointment, I got a call from the nurse at the old group telling me that the doctor I had been trying to switch to for 2 weeks had an unexpected opening the next morning right before my chemo session. So, in some twisted version of the Dating Game, I had gone from no doctor to having to decide between two new ones in the space of 5 minutes.

the dating gamephoto courtesy of ICVDM

What’s a girl to do? I absolutely loved them both. They were down to earth, respectful, and humble. They both spent a lot of time answering my questions and looking at my research studies, and neither tried to tell me that my fears about Taxol were unfounded. Instead, they admitted that Taxol may not be useful in all women with breast cancer. The truth is, we just don’t have enough studies yet to change standard protocols. I can appreciate that. I have an open mind, I just want someone to thoroughly explain why I should put myself through something so grueling when it’s benefit has been called into question.

In the end, I decided to stay with the old group. The new doctor is younger and more open-minded, and I like that. He had no problem with me icing my hands and feet to prevent neuropathy; he actually pointed out that they are doing studies on this at MD Anderson Cancer Center. And I didn’t get a single eye roll when I told him about taking L-glutamine!

So how does 2 + 1 = 7? Both new doctors suggested that I change my chemotherapy regimen to a weekly Taxol schedule, and they seemed genuinely surprised that I wasn’t already doing this. My first oncologist gave me the option, but he made it sound so undesirable that I quickly went for the 4 rounds of dose-dense treatment. Well, we all know how that turned out. Since I had completed 2 of the 4 dose-dense cycles, that amounted to half of the Taxol treatments, which would be 6 of 12 on a weekly schedule. Last Thursday I completed the equivalent of #7, leaving 5 more to go. Confused? Just follow the simple diagram below.

calculusphoto by Kaustuv Chadhuri

Anyway, I think this new schedule is going to work much better. I was a little tired yesterday, but it was a vast improvement over the last session (i.e. no one was digging in my cerebral cortex with an ice pick).  I’m heading out with my girls to downtown Asheville to get a healthy dose of sunshine and freakiness. I think I’ll take some pictures so I can share.

Here’s what’s for dinner tonight (photo mine):

DSCN1817

 

VERY VEGGIE PIZZA

Ingredients:

Whole-wheat prepared crust (preferably organic)

Organic spaghetti sauce or basil pesto for base (about 1/4 cup sauce or 4 tbsp pesto)

Shredded mozzarella

Organic Spinach

Pre-slice portabella mushrooms

Marinated artichoke quarters, ripped into smaller pieces

Grilled squash, sweet onions and red peppers

Feta cheese

Assemble:

Spread sauce in a thin layer on crust and top with mozzarella cheese. Add desired vegetables. I happened to have leftover grilled veggies, but there’s no need to pre-cook. Top with feta . Bake for 10-12 minutes at 425 or until crust is golden brown.

I’m looking for a good scratch pizza dough recipe and will share soon.

Happy Sunday!

5 thoughts on “Taxol Round #3: How 2 + 1 = 7

  1. Hang in there. I finished my taxol in April followed by Adramycin cytoxin (SP?) Once you’re done, you’re done. I had weekly infusions of taxol. I found acupuncture helped a lot. Now, I feel like my old self.

Leave a Reply

